Mark My Words

Writing, flying and yawning my way through motherhood

Rebirth of Imagination January 31, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — H. M. @ 8:35 pm
Tags: , ,

It’s now been seven full months since I’ve had to work a flight. Lots of things have changed in that time — new uniforms, a new form of onboard payment, minimum crew requirements, MRT, DRT, a hiring freeze, honey roasted peanuts, onboard Wi-Fi trials, and on and on.

Now I’m due to go back to work in six weeks. I know that’s still a long way off but I’m afraid of what might happen when I go back. Not in terms of my family, but what’s going to happen to my brain?

I feel like I came out of a creative coma since I left work. I have so many projects I want to pursue now. Not to mention the things that I’ve already accomplished. As a part time freelance writer I’ve made $2,000 since going on maternity leave. I know it’s not much in the big picture but that was part time income, with a newborn baby, and I’m just starting out. Imagine what else I could accomplish!

How can I go back to Juice or Coffee? Snack for you, sir? when my passion lies elsewhere?

 

2 Responses to “Rebirth of Imagination”

  1. carrie Says:

    work part-time, silly.

  2. FlyAArmy Says:

    I know how you feel, I’ve been off work for 3 years, not for a fantastic reason like yours, I’ve been wearing a another uniform, It’s Green & says US Army. I go back to flying 1 Jun and I’m terrified!! Will I remember how to do my job, So many things have changed,,, Will I remember how to be sweet & smile & just take it when someone is frustrated @ me because they had to pay for their luggage???

    I wish you luck … We will be fine, Right?

    Shelby


Leave a Reply

