Mark My Words

Writing, flying and yawning my way through motherhood

Thanksgiving Post Mortem November 28, 2008

Filed under: Exhaustion,Family,Henry,Holidays — H. M. @ 10:59 am
Tags: , , ,

As we sat around the Thanksgiving table we pondered, “Who would have imagined when we were sitting here last Thanksgiving that we would have a Henry this year?” Indeed, it’s been a crazy year. Last Thanksgiving, Kevin was asleep in his bouncy seat while we had dinner. This year he was all over the place on two feet. So, Carrie, will we have another new baby to be in awe of next Thanksgiving? Just wondering 😉

The night before Thanksgiving I was struggling to get Henry back to sleep after his 3am feeding. I don’t know if it’s that particular hour of the day that is challenging or what, but I was exhausted and at the end of my rope. My shoulder is about ready for surgery from sleeping with him in our bed every night so I needed to come up with a solution to his flailing… fast!

After performing all the magical acts of soothing I could muster, I finally flipped him over on his tummy and he immediately fell asleep. I’d been avoiding this practice since everything out there says stomach sleeping leads to SIDS. That night he stayed sound asleep until 8:30 in the morning. I’m sold on it now. When Henry slept from midnight until 5:30 this morning I woke up refreshed, ready to face the day at that ungodly hour (but I put him back down and went back to sleep till 7.)

I figure since Henry can halfway roll over and has no trouble screaming his head off when he’s uncomfortable, a half-night of tummy sleeping will be good for all of us.

 

2 Responses to “Thanksgiving Post Mortem”

  1. carrie Says:

    i’m working on it, i’m working on it!
    gooooosssssshhhhhhh! 🙂

    ps…grace has a new favorite hammy video (above).

  2. Aunt B Says:

    Love that Hammy! (We call him, O’Henry). Happy to see your website and so easy to post a comment. Yes, I do recognize the little blue bear.

    Sleeping on the tummy! Nothing like it. I never had any rest until our babies slept that way. I must admit, we didn’t think anything was wrong with it in my day. Time marches on.

    Our Thanksgiving was grand, all 27 assembled at the party room of our aprt. complex and brought their versions of turkey, etc. It was so great. Hope you had a good one too.

    Lots of love, Aunt B


Leave a Reply

