Mark My Words

Writing, flying and yawning my way through motherhood

Accentuate Writers: Yay!, NaNoWriMo: Fail. November 11, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — H. M. @ 7:41 pm
Tags: , ,

The semi-finalists of the last Accentuate Writers Anthology Contest of the year were announced today. I, as I expected, was not one of them. Admittedly, I am a hideous short story writer, so I wasn’t expecting any recognition at all.

Congratulations are in order for one of my favorite writing moms. Lindsay M. was selected as one of the semi-finalists. I remember her posts on the Accentuate Writers Forum remarking on how drained she was during the writing process. Congrats, Lindsay, you earned it! I encourage everyone to check out her blog Silly Mom Thoughts.

Also on a writing note, I think I’m going to abandon my NaNoWriMo novel for 2008. I’m really disappointed, I was looking forward to it so much this year. My story just isn’t capturing my imagination like 2007’s novel. I’m struggling to find time wth a 3 month old at home and I really need to focus all my energy on paid writing gigs. Someone at Accentuate recently observed that we can’t always do our best, we must simply do what we can. So NaNoWriMo will just have to take a back seat for now while I do what I can for my family.

 

One Response to “Accentuate Writers: Yay!, NaNoWriMo: Fail.”

  1. Lindsay M Says:

    Heather! You are very sweet. Thank you.

    Don’t feel guilty about abandoning your NaNo submission. Do what you can… not all you can. 🙂


Leave a Reply

