Mark My Words

Writing, flying and yawning my way through motherhood

Felicia Fonseca of the Associated Press, Please Quit! November 9, 2008

This is inexcusable. I know a lot of people who would love to write for the Associated Press, I hear they pay better than Demand Studios 😉 . Felicia Fonseca wrote an article on the Arizona boy who killed his dad and their roommate. One of the paragraphs started,

The boy had went to a neighbor’s house

I don’t know who I’m more angry with, Felicia Fonseca herself or the editor who didn’t catch that blatant disregard for English grammar. If you can’t master seventh grade language arts, step aside and make room for the rest of us.

 

4 Responses to “Felicia Fonseca of the Associated Press, Please Quit!”

  1. Kari Says:

    Huh. Well, I have heard that newspapers are written usually at a third grade vocabulary level. Maybe they’re expanding that policy to include grammar level as well!

  2. Dav!d Says:

    Near the end of the article she wrote “no one had been killed there since 20 years ago.”

    There are many other instances of lousy grammar, spelling, and punctuation in this article.

    In trying to find an email address for this “author” in order to chastise her, I found this nugget intead.

  3. Heather Says:

    Gosh, David, I didn’t even see that. I must have been so enraged by the first flaw that I couldn’t read any further.

  4. Cal Brock Says:

    This comes from writing to a deadline. Any journalist knows better than to write “had went.” I expect what she did was to type “the boy had gone,” then decided to change it to “the boy went,” but missed taking out the word “had.” She should have followed the advice of the immortal Henry Fowler. It’s always good to check our writing and correct it as necessary–but after we’ve done that we should check our corrections as well!


Leave a Reply

